Gumption by Coffee Alchemy

Opens at 9am

8.7100273 reviews

Reviews of Gumption by Coffee Alchemy

130 reviews · 17 followers · 8 years ago

Nice to see Alchemy venture out and deliver great coffee in the city. I've had a few t/a's since opening and all have been very consistent. Staff a wonderful and friendly. I avoid sitting in as the high traffic and noise can be slightly irritating.

5 reviews · 8 years ago

beautiful layout. soft pastel colours contrasting with strong gold and silver lined mirrors. simple and clean environment. stain glass windows beaming in natural light. awful espresso. thick, short, ugly. nowhere near enough water had passed through the coffee to appreciate any flavors. might as well have eaten the beans and tried to get some different notes out of that. I also trod in filth

5 reviews · 8 years ago

beautiful layout. soft pastel colours contrasting with strong gold and silver lined mirrors. simple and clean environment. stain glass windows beaming in natural light. awful espresso. I also trod in shit

5 reviews · 8 years ago

beautiful layout. soft pastel colours contrasting with strong gold and silver lined mirrors. simple and clean environment. stain glass windows beaming in natural light. awful espresso. I also trod in shit

299 reviews · 472 followers · 8 years ago

Weekend in the city.. Yay! Staying around the corner from Gumption.. Bigger yay. Getting to enjoy an espresso that was just so unctuous and filled with depth that I nearly cried when it was finished YAY indeed. It is just so lovely to stand at the brass topped counter, synesso and rebuilt la marzocca, special fancy grinders and juggler, chit chatting away with a team of uber good baristas and receive your espresso in such an environ. From the bespoke Fitout to the colour scheme, these elements are there to beguile you into a state where your senses are ready to appreciate such a crafted beverage. I am just so happy I made it in today, happy to see Hazel in her element with Lisa and the hand picked crew of baristas plying their trade producing coffee with such depth and character it drives an old bean hound like me to dream of the possibilities of adventures into another venture......

147 reviews · 21 followers · 8 years ago

Came here on Saturday - a much needed Christmas shopping pit stop. Love the space and simple, clean lined fitout which emulates the light and space of the Strand Arcade in which it lies. The coffee. I had 2 FWs - both nicely made although the milk in the first, a takeaway, was lacking a little texture, however the FW I had shortly after, made up for it. It may be bordering on heresy given that Coffee Alchemy (the parent) is pretty much Sydney coffee royalty these days...but I have to say I wanted to enjoy my coffee a little more. Perhaps it was the blend - a slightly darker roast and a little stronger & punchier than the more subtle note coffees I have come to enjoy. I'll definitely be back - a great pedigree and it's an appealing space to enjoy good coffee right in the heart of the CBD's shopping district. --

100 reviews · 8 years ago

Cappuccino was good, temperature good and not took weak, flavour good but was nothing exceptional and the presentation was average considering it was $4 for an average size. Service was quick although they seemed in a bit of a hurry and not as good as others. Considering they are new I'll give them a second chance in another few months.

467 reviews · 677 followers · 8 years ago

I braved public transport to try Hazel's new venture. I ordered an espresso and a flat white (as well as stocking up on some beans for home). I took a seat on a stool at one of the benches outside the shop. You get to people watch shoppers in The Strand while drinking your coffee. Or maybe they are watching you..... My espresso was made with an El Salvadore Peaberry. It felt a bit thin and had a buttery hint to it as well as being smooth and balanced. I've had better at Marrickville but this one was still better than a lot of places. My flat white was made with the usual house blend and was up to expectations. It was worth the trip into the city. If you work nearby, lucky you. Give them a try.

Cookies help us optimize your experience. By continuing, you accept our Privacy Policy and Terms of Conditions. Learn more