Axil Coffee Roasters
Claimed

Opens at 7am

8.6100280 reviews

Reviews of Axil Coffee Roasters

25 reviews · 7 followers · 10 years ago

I have been lucky enough to visit Axil Coffee Roasters several times since they started trading. It was clear from the minute they opened their doors that they were one of Melbourne’s top venues for quality coffee. The owners David Makin and Zoe Delaney are very experienced baristas and roasters and have spent many years in the coffee industry. David and Zoe both know what it takes to prepare and present the perfect coffee and the results are evident in the cup. The coffee is roasted on the premises in a fantastic 1960’s Probat roaster which can be seen from the café, the coffee they are producing is outstanding. The Caffe Latte’s, Cappuccino’s and Magic’s are all beautifully presented with perfectly textured milk and are topped off with high quality Latte Art. The café is well set out with plenty of space between tables and comfortable seating. The barista’s and staff make you feel welcome and provide excellent service. A “Coffee worth travelling for….”

1 review · 10 years ago

Great coffee, and the service was awesome. The coffee came out super fast and was yummy! Food took about 25mins but was definitely worth the wait and is pretty fast considering it was opening weekend. Definitely be back soon!

81 reviews · 17 followers · 10 years ago

I had heard many great reports about this cafe, so decided to try it myself. The staff were very friendly and despite every table being full, still treated us like we were the most important customers in the room. The coffee was amazing! I enjoyed a beautiful latte, followed by a piccolo. Definitely, some of the best coffee I have ever had! Lunch was delicious, and absolutely worth waiting for. Overall, a great experience, and I can't wait to go back.

59 reviews · 21 followers · 10 years ago

As I drove away from this place, I was quite literally speechless. When you walk in, it feels like you've walked into the coffee equivalent of a beer hall - very impressive. Gone are the days of long queues and squishy, shared tables just to get a decent coffee, only to be pressured to leave shortly after. But it would be a gross understatement to say that the coffee here is decent. I tried a single origin macchiato from El Salvador, perfectly extracted by the talented (and consequently awarded) barista who masterfully cured the milk to silky perfection (oh, I tried a latte too). It's the best coffee I've ever had. However my experience didnt stop there...the food was exquisite (who knew chorizo could taste SO good with fetta and jam???) and the service was overwhelmingly good! The people are fantastic and so helpful but not over-bearing. It's about time Hawthorn had a cafe of this calibre. I am coming back.

10 reviews · 10 years ago

Well it definitely lived up to expectations. Sure the floor staff are still finding their feet but they are very friendly and attentive. No attitude here like some other places.. Oh and the coffee is superb. If you like interior design, then you'll love the minimalist yet chic warehouse ensemble. Don't just have a coffee, the eggs benny on a NY bagel is to die for.

9 reviews · 2 followers · 10 years ago

In an area that so desperately needs it, up pops Axil Roasters which is as fresh as the lick of paint on it's sleek but modest facade. On entry, it's a vast space comprising of a huge mezzanine dining area spliced with a vertical 'green wall' of terracotta potted cascading plants which sections off an express counter & 'coffee to go' section. This is clearly designed to expertly manage people traffic flow on the premisis, and on it's packed first day, it's proving to be genius. Your senses are instantly piqued with the scent of freshly roasted Axil coffee (roasted, blended and bagged on site for retail and wholesale). As award winning barista's dish up velvety coffee's with cloud like crema and a zing of mint bounces around my palette with every delicious morsel of my smashed avocado with meredith fetta on crunchy toast, I'm inclined to think that this place is a very clever creation. Breakfast & lunch illustrate a varied and provincial range of favourites leaning heavily towards comfort food to no doubt ward off the bitter chill of Melbourne's cooler months. Servings are generous, so come with an appetite. I can easily see myself spending a lot of time here chatting to the attentive staff, sipping perfect coffee and admiring the glossy synchronisation of Axil's modern interior. Warm woods mix with industrial-garage chic and the fusion of themes is brilliantly juxtaposed with naked globes dangling from the ceiling by bright yellow power leads. The simple and stylistic fitout is not designed to dazzle, I think the coffee, food and service speaks for itself and is the clear champion here. Step up Melbourne, there's a new kid in town and it's going to be the leader of the pack!

12 reviews · 10 years ago

I've heard quite a bit about this place and was very keen to try their coffees on their first day of opening. The place is very spacious and has a cool, trendy atmosphere. Ordered a long mac and I dare say it was one of the best I've had. You can definitely taste that the beans were freshly roasted and it had a nice cocoa aftertaste - they definitely know how to extract a good coffee, no bitter aftertaste. Didn't have a chance to eat there yet but will be back. I have a feeling that coffee lovers that are fed up with Liar Liar's queues and cramped conditions will be flocking to Axil in no time.

2 reviews · 10 years ago

Just opened in Hawthorn. Fantastic interior fit out with a wall of terra-cotta pots with herbs and plants breaking this fairly big space. I ordered a de-caf long black and it was nicely made with house roasted beans. The menu looked good with lots to chose from with plenty of gluten free choices available. This is sure to be a hit with such a good pedigree with a barista champion on the machines. Looking forward to going back with such friendly helpful staff!!

191 reviews · 388 followers · 10 years ago

The much anticipated Axil Coffee has finally opened it's doors, and it's every bit as good as its hype! I'm extremely fortunate to be working around the corner from the new cafe, which like a beer hall is to good beer, this coffee house is to great coffee. The space is separated with a sound barrier, which serves a great purpose both protecting those drinking from the noise of the equipment, but also providing those waiting for a take-away drink with an awkwardness-free waiting area. Staff are super friendly, checking up on us to ask how our coffees were. Not to mention our second round being delivered by the Australian barista champion himself, Matt Perger. The coffee itself was amazing. My short mac was delivered with the milk separate, and tasted absolutely beautiful! I followed it up with a latte, which was smooth and flavoursome. The Axil Coffee beans are roasted in-house, and can be purchased as well. Cannot wait to see this place take off, and I can't speak highly enough of every aspect of the cafe. Coffee, staff, atmosphere, it all just works to make something beautiful.

Cookies help us optimize your experience. By continuing, you accept our Privacy Policy and Terms of Conditions. Learn more